Platform > Server

Server User Management

Projects and User Groups

Projects allows for the configuration of User Groups for a specific project, along with the users that may be assigned to that project.  User Groups may be used to override the default Access Level for any modifiable property of a specific device type (group).

Security Groups

 

 Adding a User Group to a Project

To add a new User Group to a Project:

Security New User Group

  1. Make sure the service is not running.
  2. Select the ‘Settings’ tab.
  3. Select ‘Projects’ under the ‘Security’ node from the settings tree.
  4. Select the desired project from the ‘Project’ list.
  5. Click the ‘+’ button on the bottom left of the ‘User Groups’ listing.
  6. Type a unique name for the User Group.
  7. Click ‘Ok

 

Deleting a User Group

To delete an existing User Group from a project:

Security Delete User Group

  1. Make sure the service is not running.
  2. Select the ‘Settings’ tab.
  3. Select ‘Projects’ under the ‘Security’ node from the settings tree.
  4. Select the desired project from the ‘Project’ list.
  5. Select the desired User Group from the ‘User Groups’ list.
  6. Click the ‘’ button on the bottom right of the ‘User Groups’ listing.
  7. Click ‘Yes’ to confirm deletion.

Assigning a User to a User Group

To assign a User  to a User Group for a specific a project:

  1. Make sure the service is not running.
  2. Select the ‘Settings’ tab.
  3. Select ‘Projects’ under the ‘Security’ node from the settings tree.
  4. Select the desired project from the ‘Project’ list.
  5. Select the desired User Group (if any) from the ‘Group’ column for the desired user in the ‘Users’ list.

Security User add to User Group

 

Access Levels

Access Levels allows the user to override the default restrictions for actions that can be performed on device types (groups) using the client controls.  If a user logged in on the SCADA system has been assigned to the permitted User Group, or the action is enabled to all users, then the user will be permitted access to modifiers for that property.  It is important to note that if no User Group is assigned to a given property, that property will default to its predefined restriction level.  The majority of properties permit access as long as a user is logged into the system.  This is indicated by the term ‘All User Groups’ for a specific property. Some properties however, are restricted by default.  These properties must be assigned a User Group to enable any user to access the modifiers for that property.  A restricted property that is inaccessible by any user has the term ‘None Selected’ configured for that property.

Server Access Levels